Review #3 | Wonder by R.J. Palacio

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

11387515
“When given the choice between being right or being kind, choose kind.”

Wonder is a beautiful, amazing story that I really hope everyone will have the chance to read at least once in their lifetime. It made me cry both happy and sad tears, while it did have it’s flaws, I can not rave about this book enough.

Auggie is a 10-year-old boy who was born with a facial deformity. It takes place during his first year of school. Looking at the bullying, the friendships, and the acceptance Auggie experiences. Not only does it follow Auggie but it also follows his classmates, friends, and family’s POVs and how he affected their lives for better or for worse.

“Kinder than is necessary. Because it’s not enough to be kind. One should be kinder than needed.”

Onto my thoughts, I don’t think there was a character that I didn’t love, which is rare in a multiple POV novel but they were all wonderful. I just wanted to hug and squeeze every single one. I’m a sucker for a great family dynamic and let me tell you, Auggie’s family was AMAZING. They did have their ups and downs but they never stopped showing their undying love for Auggie and each other. I can say that they’re going down in history as one of my favorite book families.

The story itself flowed very well, I was never bored and if it wasn’t for the body’s need of sleep I would’ve probably read this from cover to cover in one sitting. Damn you sleep. Even with it’s flaws Wonder will forever hold a place in my heart.

This book is a simple one, the writing isn’t phenomenal, be aware that it is middle-grade, but it’s also a hard-hitting one. I think this is a story that will stay with me for a while, one of the best middle-grade novels I’ve ever read and I cannot wait to continue reading about the cast of characters in Wonder’s companion novels.

You might be wondering, you’re yelling at me to read this book so why didn’t you give it five-stars? The answer is I don’t know. I know it had it’s flaws, you will find the R-word a couple of times throughout the novel. That stuck with me. That alone might have knocked off the one star if I’m being honest. Do I recommend it? Yes! Please read this, send this book to your , to your friends, to your whole family, to your co-workers! I think this is a book that’s going to go down as a children’s classic, but I don’t think it was without it’s own faults.

“You really are a wonder, Auggie. You are a wonder.”

Rating: ★★★★☆ | Read March 29 – April 1

Additional Information

Goodreads | R.J. Palacio

Pages: 320

Genre: Middle Grade / Contemporary

Synopsis:

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.
August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to start 5th grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?
R. J. Palacio has written a spare, warm, uplifting story that will have readers laughing one minute and wiping away tears the next. With wonderfully realistic family interactions (flawed, but loving), lively school scenes, and short chapters, Wonder is accessible to readers of all levels.

hhhhij

2 thoughts on “Review #3 | Wonder by R.J. Palacio

Leave a Reply

