Review #4 | Matilda by Roald Dahl

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

32054339.jpg“Never do anything by halves if you want to get away with it. Be outrageous. Go the whole hog. Make sure everything you do is so completely crazy it’s unbelievable…”

I really missed out on something wonderful when I was younger. That something was Roald Dahl. I was probably too busying reading ghost stories and/or Percy Jackson to ever notice Matilda.

I wish that someone would’ve shoved this book in my face and demand that I read it. I know I would’ve loved it then, I would’ve related to Matilda so much! Minus the powers. Even though I’m older and my reading tastes have changed, (even improved, I hope?) I knew I was going to absolutely adore this book from the first page. Matilda has easily become one of my favorite reads of the year and could easily go down as one of my favorite books of all time.

I assume everyone knows what this story is about and if you don’t, read the synopsis below and go pick it up asap! So I won’t waste your time going on about that. I did grow up watching the movie and recently I’ve been listening to the musical non-stop but I have to say that the book blew both of those out of the water. A story that I think will never get old no matter how many times I reread it and I plan on rereading it a lot.

Do I recommend Matilda? YES! I believe this to be a classic in children’s literature. It’s a magical story, with a quick plot, and amazing characters. It’s an amazing story for all ages. Even if you missed out like me when you were younger and are now above the recommended reading age, I’m pretty much begging you to pick it up.

“So Matilda’s strong young mind continued to grow, nurtured by the voices of all those authors who had sent their books out into the world like ships on the sea. These books gave Matilda a hopeful and comforting message: You are not alone.”

Matilda was my first Roald Dahl novel but it won’t be my last. I hope every one of his novels are as great and delightful as Matilda. I can’t wait to make my way through them all!

Rating: ★★★★★ | Read April 1 – 2

Additional Information

Goodreads | Roald Dahl

Pages: 232

Genre: Middle Grade /  Humor

Synopsis:

Matilda is a little girl who is far too good to be true. At age five-and-a-half she’s knocking off double-digit multiplication problems and blitz-reading Dickens. Even more remarkably, her classmates love her even though she’s a super-nerd and the teacher’s pet. But everything is not perfect in Matilda’s world. For starters she has two of the most idiotic, self-centered parents who ever lived. Then there’s the large, busty nightmare of a school principal, Mrs. (“The”) Trunchbull, a former hammer-throwing champion who flings children at will and is approximately as sympathetic as a bulldozer. Fortunately for Matilda, she has the inner resources to deal with such annoyances: astonishing intelligence, saintly patience, and an innate predilection for revenge.
She warms up with some practical jokes aimed at her hapless parents, but the true test comes when she rallies in defense of her teacher, the sweet Miss Honey, against the diabolical Trunchbull. There is never any doubt that Matilda will carry the day. Even so, this wonderful story is far from predictable. Roald Dahl, while keeping the plot moving imaginatively, also has an unerring ear for emotional truth. The reader cares about Matilda because in addition to all her other gifts, she has real feelings.

hhhhij

6 thoughts on “Review #4 | Matilda by Roald Dahl

Leave a Reply

