Review #5 | Zinnia and the Bees by Danielle Davis

 paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

32179015Rating: ★★☆☆☆ ½ 

A colony of honeybees mistakes seventh-grader Zinnia’s hair for a hive ― and that’s the least of her problems. While Zinnia’s classmates are celebrating the last day of seventh grade, she’s in the vice principal’s office, serving detention. Her offense? Harmlessly yarn-bombing a statue of the school mascot. When Zinnia rushes home to commiserate with her older brother and best friend, Adam, she’s devastated to discover that he’s gone ― with no explanation. Zinnia’s day surely can’t get any worse . . . until a colony of honeybees inhabits her hive-like hair! Infused with magical realism, Danielle Davis delivers a quirky, heartfelt debut, exploring both the complex life of a young loner and a comical hive of honeybees. Together, these alternating and unexpected perspectives will touch anyone who has ever felt alone, betrayed, or misunderstood.

What I Liked:

  • Such a cute concept
  • The adorable chapters in the bee’s POV
  • Birch, I just want to give him a hug

What I Didn’t Like:

  • Zinnia almost had no reaction to the bees?? GIRL, you have bees living in your hair. I would’ve shit myself.
  • It was too short & the plot felt too rushed

I honestly requested this on Netgalley based on the cover alone. It’s just so darn cute. Maybe I made the mistake of going to this with too high of expectations, it really sounded like the perfect, adorable middle grade that I was craving… or maybe I was just in the wrong mindset for this book. I feel like I would’ve liked it more on any other day.

While it was adorable and I really enjoyed it some parts did fall flat for me. The majority of the novel focused on Zinnia and her relationships with her brother and mother, while we did get some family dynamics I really would’ve enjoyed seeing those relationships grow. Especially near the end when everything was wrapping up. But that’s just me, I’m a sucker for loving families in books.

Also, I wanted more bees. The more the merrier when it comes to bees.

Do I recommend it? If you’re looking for a short, adorable middle grade I definitely recommend this one! Be aware that it’s a middle grade that is more aimed at the intended audience. I mean, don’t get your hopes up based on the adorable cover like I did. Oops.

hhhhij

5 thoughts on “Review #5 | Zinnia and the Bees by Danielle Davis

Leave a Reply

