Review #8 | James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

29093201

Rating: ★★★★☆ | Read April 10

James Henry Trotter lives with two ghastly hags. Aunt Sponge is enormously fat with a face that looks boiled and Aunt Spiker is bony and screeching. He’s very lonely until one day something peculiar happens. At the end of the garden a peach starts to grow and GROW AND GROW. Inside that peach are seven very unusual insects – all waiting to take James on a magical adventure. But where will they go in their GIANT PEACH and what will happen to the horrible aunts if they stand in their way? There’s only one way to find out . .

What I Liked:

♡ James and the Giant Peach is one of my favorite animated movies of all time so I had to read the book! I knew I was going to love it and I was correct. It was just as whimsical and fun as the movie.

♡ I have such a deep love for this story and reading the story brought that all back. There are obviously differences between the movie and the book. I loved all the differences and while they weren’t drastic, they were enough to expand the story just a little more beyond what I already knew. I loved that.

♡ After reading Matilda earlier this month, you can find my review here, I knew I had to pick up another of Dahl’s novels because I had to make up for what my childhood was obviously lacking, aka all of Roald Dahl’s novels. You bet I’m going to pick up another as soon as I possibly can.

♡ I’m currently all for an adorable cast of characters, no morally grey characters for me right now, and James and the Giant Peach did not disappoint.

What I Didn’t Like:

♡ Not much… I really loved it for what it was.

♡ MORE ADVENTURE, or maybe, when flying across the ocean in a peach, time flies. What would I know?

Goodreads | Amazon | Roald Dahl

hhhhij

 

One thought on “Review #8 | James and the Giant Peach by Roald Dahl

Leave a Reply

