Netgalley Approvals #2 | April 11 – 15

After these last two weeks, I’m going to say it here first, I am done requesting from netgalley for a while. I’ve been approved for some amazing books and I can’t wait to read them! That said, I also don’t want to stress myself out so no more requests. Hopefully. I have terrible self-control.

34448522The Girl with the Red Balloon by Katherine Locke

Expected Release Date: September 1st

Genre: YA | Historical Fiction

Why I’m Interested: Main character time travels via balloon? That’s all I need to know.

Synopsis:

When sixteen-year-old Ellie Baum accidentally time-travels via red balloon to 1988 East Berlin, she’s caught up in a conspiracy of history and magic. She meets members of an underground guild in East Berlin who use balloons and magic to help people escape over the Wall—but even to the balloon makers, Ellie’s time travel is a mystery. When it becomes clear that someone is using dark magic to change history, Ellie must risk everything—including her only way home—to stop the process.

Goodreads | Netgalley

cover110535-mediumElsie Mae Has Something to Say by Nancy J. Cavanaugh 

Expected Release Date: September 5th

Genre: Middle Grade | Historical Fiction

Why I’m Interested: It sounds adorable and it features a dog. I’m excited to pick it up!

Synopsis:

Elsie Mae has long treasured summers with her grandparents in the Okefenokee Swamp, so she is devastated to hear that a shipping company plans to build a canal right through it. What will that mean for the people and animals that call the swamp home?

So she writes a letter directly to President Franklin Roosevelt himself and sets off to enjoy what may be her last happy summer there with her new dog, Huck. But when she arrives, she discovers a team of hog bandits who have been stealing from the swamper families.

When her cousin Henry James, who dreams of one day becoming a traveling preacher like his daddy, shows up, Elsie doesn’t think things could get worse. But she devises a plan to use Henry and his “Hallelujahs” to help stop the thieves—and maybe just make enough noise to gain Roosevelt’s attention…

Goodreads | Netgalley

cover104457-medium.png

The List by Patricia Forde

Expected Release Date: August 1st

Genre: YA | Dystopia

Why I’m Interested: I’m currently reading The List as I’m writing this, not sure when this is going up so I might already have finished it. (Look out for my review *wink wink*) I’m really liking it so far, I haven’t read a Dystopian novel in ages.

Synopsis:

In the city of Ark, speech is constrained to five hundred sanctioned words. Speak outside the approved lexicon and face banishment. The exceptions are the Wordsmith and his apprentice Letta, the keepers and archivists of all language in their post-apocalyptic, neo-medieval world.

On the death of her master, Letta is suddenly promoted to Wordsmith, charged with collecting and saving words. But when she uncovers a sinister plan to suppress language and rob Ark’s citizens of their power of speech, she realizes that it’s up to her to save not only words, but culture itself.

Goodreads | Netgalley

cover107831-mediumDon’t Feed the Trolls by Erica Kudisch

Release Date: April 3rd

Genre: Contemporary | LGBT+

Why I’m Interested: Female gamers. LGBT+ representation. That’s all I need.

Synopsis:

Gaming while female is enough to incur the wrath of the dude-bros, and they’ve come for me. Instead of fighting back, I’ve created an alternate account. Male name, male pronouns. And I’ve met this girl. I’ve always liked girls, and Laura’s adorable and smart and never gives up, and she likes me back. Or rather, she likes the man I’m pretending to be. But I can’t tell her I’m a woman without the mob coming after her too.

And besides: I might not be a woman, not really.

The truth is, I don’t know what I am anymore. I’ve spent my whole life being told how I’m supposed to act and what I’m supposed to be, but none of it feels right. And my lie is starting to feel truer than anything I’ve ever been.

There’s a convention coming up, but the closer it gets, the more I have to choose: lie or fight. But if I don’t stand my ground as a girl, am I letting the haters win?

Then again, those aren’t the only two ways to live.

2 thoughts on “Netgalley Approvals #2 | April 11 – 15

Leave a Reply

