Review #9 | George by Alex Gino

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

24612624.jpgRating: ★★★★☆ | Read Listened to April 10

More than anything else, George wants to play Charlotte in her fourth-grade class’s production of Charlotte’s Web. The problem is, her teacher won’t let her, because George is a boy. But George isn’t about to let that squash her dream. With the help of her best friend, George must learn to stand up for her wish — and brave a few bullies along the way.

I recently listened to this on audiobook and I think I’ve realized that audiobooks are not my thing. I’m just not a fan.

My Thoughts:

♡ If it wasn’t for the audiobook, I would’ve absolutely loved this. I have no doubt about it. While I did really like the narrator, Jamie Clayton… anyone else watch Sense8? Clayton is amazing, the story itself while being read aloud was sooo slow. I actually fell asleep at one point.

♡ I really need to pick this one up in a physical format. Someone remind me later.

♡ Every. Single. School. Needs. This. Book.

♡ How Gino explained what transgender means, in an easy to understand manner, was amazing. I also loved how Gino used female pronouns from beginning to end.

♡ It might be because I listened to it rather than read it but I didn’t feel anything towards the characters. I appreciated them yet they felt one-dimensional.

♡ The book did focus on some gender stereotypes, actually a lot of gender stereotypes. I had to dock of a star for that.

♡ George is such a powerful and much needed novel.

♡ I highly, highly recommend

hhhhij

 

One thought on “Review #9 | George by Alex Gino

Leave a Reply

