Review #12 | 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

31019571Rating: ★★☆☆☆ | Read April 19 – 23

Find on Goodreads

Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

My Thoughts:

♡ It was okay. I don’t have much to say besides that…. so my review might just be as brief as my thoughts actually are. Sorry about that.

♡ This book does feature a main character who identifies as LGBT+ and deals with severe anxiety. I did appreciate both aspects but the anxiety was a little too overwhelming at times. Also didn’t help my own anxiety in the slightest. I was getting annoyed and uncomfortable during almost every scene.

♡ The plot is all over the place. Maeve is flying back and forth from one problem to another without focusing on just one at a time. One moment we’re talking about her anxiety, then we jump to her dad’s drinking problem, then we’re talking about her old best friend, then we’re worrying about Salix, then the baby, etc. I don’t know if that makes sense but the plot felt too rushed to be focusing on so many things at once. It also didn’t help with the overwhelming anxiety. Just saying.

♡ Salix, the main character’s love interest, annoyed me so much and I can’t even pinpoint why. It felt like a relationship that “heals” the protagonist but never actually  reaches that point.

♡ Insta-love always gets a thumbs down from your truly.

♡ Actually, the majority of the characters annoyed me. Except the cute little brothers, they could never annoy me because they were adorable. Cute little brothers added the extra star onto my rating by themselves.

♡ We never get to know Maeve? We get to know everyone around her from her perspective but I honestly don’t remember much about Maeve herself and I just read this novel.

♡ Maeve’s dad. Oh my goodness I wanted to strangle the man.

♡ I should’ve wrote down my thoughts as I read because boy, did I have a lot of them. Now they have disappeared and I’m only left with my shitty memory.

♡ I skimmed over the last half, I just wanted the story to be over and I honestly didn’t care anymore. I’m surprised I didn’t DNF this one.

Do I Recommend? I’m sure others can get more out this story than I personally did so go ahead and pick it up. See what you think. I personally had my reading experience ruined by the intense and overwhelming anxiety. I’ve read many books featuring anxiety and I always found a piece of myself in the story. 10 Things I Can See From Here is not one of those.

I’m sure you could find a better YA novel dealing with family, LGBT+ and mental illness but what do I know, right?

This book just wasn’t for me.

hhhhij

2 thoughts on “Review #12 | 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac

Leave a Reply

