Review #14 | Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

4961957.jpgRating: ★★★★☆| Read April 23 – May 1

Book Depository | Goodreads

For a thousand years, the people of Alera have united against the aggressive races that inhabit the world, using their unique bond with the furies – elementals of earth, air, fire, water and metal. But now, Gaius Sextus, First Lord of Alera, grows old and lacks an heir. Ambitious Lords manoeuvre to place their Houses in positions of power, and a war of succession looms on the horizon. Far from city politics in the Calderon Valley, young Tavi struggles with his lack of furycrafting. At fifteen, he has no wind fury to help him fly, no fire fury to light his lamps. Yet as the Alerans’ most savage enemy – the Marat – return to the Valley, his world will change. Caught in a storm of deadly wind furies, Tavi saves the life of a runaway slave. But Amara is actually a spy, seeking intelligence on possible Marat traitors to the Crown. And when the Valley erupts into chaos – when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies – Amara will find Tavi invaluable. His talents will outweigh any fury-born power – and could even turn the tides of war.

This will be more of a gush than a review

My Thoughts:

♡ SO GOOD. Such an amazing beginning to a great fantasy series.

♡ These characters, oh man, I love them so much. All of them. Yes, even you Fidelias, you sneaky bastard. The “bad guys” were great. The main protagonists were great. EVERYONE WAS GREAT.

♡ I loved reading from so many characters perspectives. Surprisingly there wasn’t one character I didn’t want to read from. You know when you’re reading multiple POVs and you’re trying so hard to get through that one character’s chapter so you can get back to your favorite’s?? That was not this book for me. Every character was interesting and I just want to squeeze them all. In a hug, not in a killing way, definitely not that.

♡ Something you might want to know about me is I’m a sucker for character development. Even if this development takes multiple books to develop in order for the character to learn and grow, I absolutely adore it. Every. Single. Time. And let me tell you, this book has a big serving of character development.

♡ I did struggle to get through the second half of this book. Mostly the battle scenes, I don’t know what it is but something about battle/war scenes in books bore me to death. Just give me all the drama and action before and action the battle itself. I don’t really care about the fighting bits in the middle between the two sides. It’s just eh for me.

♡ This book does lack diversity. While I did have a cast of characters in my mind and Amara was the only one I pictured as white. I’m not sure if any of the other characters are actually described as POC. I’ll have to focus on character description in the second novel.

♡ The magic system reminded me so much of Avatar: The Last Airbender except the elements take on more of the form of a pet. So that made me giddy, I love Avatar so much.

♡ The next book looks like it’s going to be taking place in an academy during one of the characters POV’s so I’m pumped. I will read any book if it features a magical school, fun fact.

Do I Recommend? If you love fantasy and especially fantasy with multiple POVs then I definitely recommend! The writing reminded me a little bit of Sanderson’s writing, it’s fast-paced and it sucks you in for hours at a time.

hhhhij

One thought on “Review #14 | Furies of Calderon by Jim Butcher

Leave a Reply

