Review #15 | Haven by Rebekah Weatherspoon

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

34745311.jpgRating: ★★☆☆☆| Read May 6

Goodreads

A week-long getaway…

City girl Claudia Cade’s carefree life is plunged into chaos when a camping trip with her brother in the national forests of Northern California turns into a deadly dash for her survival.

A solitary world turned upside down…

Nature photographer Shepard Olsen has resigned himself to a quiet existence, with only his dog by his side, until a woman in need of his protection shows up on his doorstep and throws his universe into disarray.

Two lives linked by tragedy…

Claudia is desperate to heal from her traumatic loss, but can’t stop thinking about her run-in with evil….or the grizzled mountain man whose quick thinking and good aim saved her life. When she shows up on Shep’s doorstep again, she finds she isn’t the only one who can’t move on…

♡ I honestly don’t know why I read this. It popped up in my amazon recommendations and the synopsis made it sound interesting enough, minus the sex but eh, I can always skim over those parts like I usually do. At least I thought so.

♡ Majority of this book was sex. I thought it was at least going to be at least part thriller, nope. I was wrong. Just sex. With maybe a chapter or two of action at the very beginning. Which is already described to you right there in the synopsis.

♡ I’ve read many new adult novels and I’m still not sure if I’m even a fan of the genre. I read one and chances are I forget the plot the next day. Most of these novels just aren’t memorable for me. Haven being one of these.

♡ I did appreciate the healthy relationship between the two main characters though, that is rare to come by especially in the new adult genre. They both treated each other with respect and knew what they were doing every step of the way. Nothing was forced upon another and there wasn’t any bullshit when it came to miscommunication. Which was fantastic to read.

♡ DIVERSITY IN A NEW ADULT NOVEL. Also a huge plus.

♡ Healthy relationship + diversity = the only reason I didn’t give this novel one star. I didn’t hate it but I feel nothing towards it. It was just a novel that I sped through when I had nothing better to do with my time.

♡ I feel like this review is all over the place, I apologize. It’s also close to 2am when I’m writing this so can I blame the fact that I’m completely out of it and exhausted right now? Yes, yes I can. I have officially fucked up my sleeping schedule to read this book and write this review. I hope at least one person appreciates my sacrifice.

hhhhij

 

 

 

One thought on “Review #15 | Haven by Rebekah Weatherspoon

Leave a Reply

