Review #17 | Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

PicMonkey CollageRating: ★★★★☆ | Read: May 8

Goodreads

Jess Aarons’ greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He’s been practicing all summer and can’t wait to see his classmates’ faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys’ side and outruns everyone.
That’s not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie Burke become inseparable. Together they create Terabithia, a magical kingdom in the woods where the two of them reign as king and queen, and their imaginations set the only limits.

My Thoughts:

♡ I can finally say that I have read Bridge to Terabithia. That alone makes me happy. The movie is one of my favorites and I can’t believe I didn’t read this when I was younger, I’ve learned that this novel is for young and old alike.

♡ While it does have its faults, fat shaming, abuse, etc. The story despite all of that is amazing. The friendship within this novel will hit you hard every time, it even made me cry. Just like the movie does every single time I watch it. I’m sure I’ll cry every single time I read it now too.

♡ I have to say that I prefer the movie. I know I keep mentioning the movie but it means a lot to me and I’m not not going to mention it, you get it?

♡ With less description and feeling the book fell flat with the relationships within the novel for me, compared to the story I already knew told through the movie, I didn’t feel as much as I did while watching.

♡ It is a small book so the amount of relationship building, development, and imagination inside is impressive when it’s compacted into so few pages.

♡ This book is touching and magical, definitely a classic and everyone should get the chance to pick it up. Beware of the tears that will come by the end though.

hhhhij

2 thoughts on “Review #17 | Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

  1. Wow, it’s been quite a while since I picked up this one, and watched the movie. I can’t recall the differences between the book and the movie, but all I can remember is looking online last year thinking, “wait what that was josh hutcherson as jess?!!” I just googled his age and he was fourteen, which is how old I am now…this is all so weird to think about 😂. It’s so great that you picked this up though, and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

