Graphic Novel Review #5 | Plutona by Jeff Lemire

hhjhk

27753929.jpgRead: May 29th | Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Goodreads

Five kids discover the body of the world’s greatest super hero, Plutona, in the woods after school one day. This discovery sends them on a dark journey that will threaten to tear apart their friendship and their lives.

♡ My love for Jeff Lemire’s Sweet Tooth and image comics as a whole were the reasons I picked up this graphic novel. I was hoping to enjoy this one more then I actually did.

♡ With not much of a plot or plot building this story focuses more on the characters and their relationships with each other. Definitely something you don’t find often in graphic novels.

♡ Left open and with no real closure this story leaves you feeling disappointed and underwhelmed. This story could’ve been so much more.

♡ These character’s could’ve been amazing, all dealing with their personal problems and some with less than ideal home situations, this series really could’ve packed a punch. Yet, with only 5 short issues we don’t get to see much of these characters. With little to no character development, I was a bit disappointed.

♡ I found out this was a mini-series after reading and that might be the most disappointing part about all of this. I NEED MORE. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS. gosh darn it.

♡ One thing I really enjoyed was the art style. I could look at it all day.

♡ This review has a lot of “could’ve” and “disappointed” doesn’t it? Oops.

♡ Overall it was a decent story, that could have been better but I can’t do anything about that now, can I? I wish this story had improvements but for what it was I liked it. A decent, likeable graphic novel. That’s all.

hhhhij

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Review #5 | Plutona by Jeff Lemire

Leave a Reply

