Review #19 | Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2.jpg

34002214.jpgRead: May 29 – 31 | Rating: ★★★☆☆

Goodreads

William Shakespeare’s The Tempest retold as Hag-Seed

Felix is at the top of his game as Artistic Director of the Makeshiweg Theatre Festival. His productions have amazed and confounded. Now he’s staging a Tempest like no other: not only will it boost his reputation, it will heal emotional wounds.

Or that was the plan. Instead, after an act of unforeseen treachery, Felix is living in exile in a backwoods hovel, haunted by memories of his beloved lost daughter, Miranda. And also brewing revenge.

After twelve years, revenge finally arrives in the shape of a theatre course at a nearby prison. Here, Felix and his inmate actors will put on his Tempest and snare the traitors who destroyed him. It’s magic! But will it remake Felix as his enemies fall?

My Thoughts:

♡ I don’t have much to say. While I did like Hag-Seed and I know it’s a great book I just don’t think I read it at the right time. Yep, it’s one of those books.

♡ After reading The Handmaid’s Tale I knew I was going to have to read more of her work. Her writing was too beautiful to ignore. That’s the main reason why I decided to pick up Hag-Seed to begin with, I guess I should have considered whether or not the story would actually be for me.

♡ I don’t think this story was exactly for me. I knew going into this it might be a little difficult to understand because I have never read The Tempest. I was right and it was a little confusing but it was also weird to read. It was a story telling a whole plot of another story, essentially. It didn’t feel like a retelling. Most retellings take their own spin on the tale, this just told the same story as far as I could tell, just with a different background. If that makes sense? Do any of my reviews ever make sense? I don’t know. Hopefully my thoughts come across as I meant them.

♡ The relationship between Felix and Miranda, the daughter he’s created after losing his own at a young age, was probably the most interesting to read about. I wish Atwood included more battle between Felix and this “daughter” of his.

♡ I found the beginning to drag, I was afraid that this would go to my graveyard of DNF’s. I started to like the story when the rehearsals began. Being within the prison and seeing everyone act out this story, that was new for me, was interesting to read.

♡ I did find this book relaxing. I loved the writing and the setting, the character’s inner monologue were great and full of humor.

Do I Recommend? For Atwood’s writing alone, yes. 100% yes. If you’re not into Shakespeare, like yours truly, then maybe pick up another one of Atwood’s works? Probably what I should’ve done if I’m being honest.

hhhhij

One thought on “Review #19 | Hag-Seed by Margaret Atwood

Leave a Reply

