Review #20 | Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

22232.jpgRating: ★★★★☆½| Read May 31 – June 2

Goodreads

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of “Stargirl, Stargirl.” She captures Leo Borlock’ s heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

My Thoughts:

♡ amazing.

♡ I had no idea what this one was about going into it and I think that’s the best way to read it. No expectations. Just enjoy it.

♡ This is a story that’s going to stick with me for the rest of my life. One I’ll reread multiple times and recommend to everyone. I can’t even explain why I love this book so much, it’s just beautiful. That’s it. That’s my review…….. just kidding. I can at least think of a few more thoughts. Maybe.

♡ Within such a short book I managed to fall for these characters. Stargirl and Leo might go down as some of my favorite characters. In less than 200 pages we get to see these character’s personalities and their flaws, I feel like I really got to know them and that was amazing.

♡ This book is honestly one I think everyone can relate to and hug to their chest when they’re finished.

♡ JUST READ IT GOSHDARNIT. That’s the point of this short review, to not tell you much about the story but make you want to read it anyway! It’s so short, there’s no reason why you shouldn’t pick this up, to be honest.

hhhhij

4 thoughts on “Review #20 | Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

Leave a Reply

