Graphic Novel Review #6 | Kill or Be Killed by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips

hhjhk

31247173Read: June 3 | Rating: ★★★☆☆

Goodreads

The darkly twisted story of a young man forced to kill bad people, and how he struggles to keep his secret as it slowly begins to ruin his life and the lives of his friends and loved ones. Both a thriller and a deconstruction of vigilantism, KILL OR BE KILLED is unlike anything this award-winning team has done before…

My Thoughts:

♡ I really enjoyed the art style for this one. I say this for every graphic novel, don’t I? All art styles are great and I have yet to find one that doesn’t blow me away. Fuck these amazing people and their talent.

♡ While the storyline wasn’t necessary original, man makes deal with devil so he doesn’t get screwed over. With the characters and the way the story was told,  it was easy to forget that I’ve seen/read this type of story before.

♡ I’m excited to see how this story progresses, we leave the characters in a pretty rough spot when it comes to their relationships and I honestly have no idea how they’re going to resolve this shitstorm they have made.

♡ My favorite part of this as a whole was the inner dialogue. It was humorous at times and felt real. The main character was scared and wasn’t sure what to do, he didn’t just accept his fate like most of these character’s who are faced with a crazy situation do.

♡ Overall it was an enjoyable read, with an unoriginal plot but an original way of telling it.

Do I recommend? Sure, go ahead and give it a try. It is a violent one so be sure to be aware of that going into it, there’s blood and gore. I mean, it is a story about a man killing others… I don’t know what else you would expect but you have been warned. I can see that this one might not be for everyone, I’m not even sure if it was for me but that’s not going to stop me from seeing where these characters end up.

hhhhij

One thought on “Graphic Novel Review #6 | Kill or Be Killed by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips

Leave a Reply

