Review #22 | Aftermath by Clara Kensie

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

30094526 (1) Read June 7 – 9 | Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Goodreads

Charlotte survived four long years as a prisoner in the attic of her kidnapper, sustained only by dreams of her loving family. The chance to escape suddenly arrives, and Charlotte fights her way to freedom. But an answered prayer turns into heartbreak. Losing her has torn her family apart. Her parents have divorced: Dad’s a glutton for fame, Mom drinks too much, and Charlotte’s twin is a zoned-out druggie. Her father wants Charlotte write a book and go on a lecture tour, and her mom wants to keep her safe, a virtual prisoner in her own home. But Charlotte is obsessed with the other girl who was kidnapped, who never got a second chance at life–the girl who nobody but Charlotte believes really existed. Until she can get justice for that girl, even if she has to do it on her own, whatever the danger, Charlotte will never be free.

My Thoughts:

♡ This is honestly your average kidnapped kid returning years later to a ruined family kind of trope. Despite this, I can’t say I didn’t enjoy this. It was good but not great.

♡ While I’ve seen this scenario played out in so many books, tv shows, movies, etc. I still enjoy it every single fucking time. Why?? Why do I do this? It’s all the same!

♡ The main character in this one were what sucked me into not giving it one star. Charlotte along with her sister especially. That little plot twist at the end with them though!!! I actually didn’t see that one coming.

♡ Charlotte’s narrative was definitely my favorite part about this novel, being inside her head and reading her thoughts is what drove me to not DNFing this early on. Her brutal and honest descriptions of everything around her had me hooked.

♡ I don’t know what else to say. If you seem to lean more towards this topic and trope of kidnapped returned home then I say pick this one up and give it a go!

hhhhij

One thought on “Review #22 | Aftermath by Clara Kensie

Leave a Reply

