Review #24 | The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

29981261Read June 11 – 14 | Rating: ★★★★☆

Goodreads

Trigger Warnings: Rape, Abuse, Depression, everything and probably anything you might associate this kidnapping and captivity. Be careful when going into this one, it’s a hard read from start to finish.

Near an isolated mansion lies a beautiful garden.

In this garden grow luscious flowers, shady trees…and a collection of precious “butterflies”—young women who have been kidnapped and intricately tattooed to resemble their namesakes. Overseeing it all is the Gardener, a brutal, twisted man obsessed with capturing and preserving his lovely specimens.

When the garden is discovered, a survivor is brought in for questioning. FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are tasked with piecing together one of the most stomach-churning cases of their careers. But the girl, known only as Maya, proves to be a puzzle herself.

As her story twists and turns, slowly shedding light on life in the Butterfly Garden, Maya reveals old grudges, new saviors, and horrific tales of a man who’d go to any length to hold beauty captive. But the more she shares, the more the agents have to wonder what she’s still hiding…

My Thoughts:

♡ If you’ve read any of my recent blog posts you may know that I am really getting into the adult thriller genre. The Butterfly Garden really settled my crave for an intense thriller drama.

♡ When I say intense I mean intense. Check out my trigger warning earlier in this review to see if this novel is one for you. I honestly don’t want to go into the plot or storyline too much because I think it’s better to go into this one not knowing too much besides what the synopsis informs you of and the trigger warnings.

♡ I’m a huge of fan of characters in general. If I can’t connect or feel anything for the characters in a novel then chances are I’m not going to enjoy my reading experience. In this story I really loved getting to know the characters. It was slow building and while I couldn’t personally connect to what these women were going through, obviously, I’ve never been abduted thank goodness, they still made me cry and overall just feel for them. Even the men in this novel, I’m including the one’s a wanted to stangle myself and hit across the head with a blunt object, made me feel all the feeeels. Excuse that saying but I don’t know how else to explain how I felt every single damn emotion while reading this story.

♡ psst if you made it to this point in the review let me congratulate you, I know my reviews are shit and I’m honestly surprised anyone would’ve clicked on the link that led you here. This thought has nothing to do with the book, it’s just me filling in space so this review doesn’t look so f*cking short. I should just write mini reviews, right? Am I right?

♡ If you’re looking for an intense, rollar coaster of emotions thriller then I 100% recommend this one. I’m going to tell you one more time, make sure the trigger warnings don’t apply to you before going into this one, it gets graphic and I don’t want any of you getting hurt.

♡ One last thing, has one continued past The Butterfly Garden to read the sequal? I know it’s more of a companion novel and I’m not sure if I’m interested. I would be interested in hearing your thoughts on it though if you happen to have any.

Thank you so much for reading and have a great day!

hhhhij

 

3 thoughts on “Review #24 | The Butterfly Garden by Dot Hutchison

Leave a Reply

