Review #26 | Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

29437949 (1).jpgRead June 25 – 27 | Rating: ★★★☆☆

Goodreads

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love.

Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and wine flowing. They appear to be in their element while entertaining. And Grace’s friends are eager to reciprocate with lunch the following week. Grace wants to go, but knows she never will. Her friends call—so why doesn’t Grace ever answer the phone? And how can she cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim?

And why are there bars on one of the bedroom windows?

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?

My Thoughts:

♡ holy sh*t

♡ B.A. Paris, you wonderfully talented human being. While you did stay predictable throughout the novel, I can say that your writing made up for it.

♡ I think I have this new thing with falling in love with a main character’s POV in a thriller novel? Does that make sense? Is this why thriller novel are taking over the world? I may get it now? They’re all going through terrible situations and I feel like these situations bring out the worst and the best in these characters. We really do get to know them and their character development are some of the best.

♡ Grace’s story is like no other. I want to give absolutely nothing away but I think I should mention that this one is worth the read.

♡ I think the main reason I gave this one 3/5 stars was for the predictability and repetitiveness. I think I figured out what was happening sooner than I was meant to. I also found that Jack and Grace went through a lot of the same scenarios over and over again. I wish I could explain further into detail but once again, I have promised non-spoiler free reviews and I am not going to break that today.

♡ Do I recommend? While I can see how this one might not be for everyone, if you’re a lover of all the popular thriller novels nowadays then you might as well check this one out. After all, the worst that could happen is you hate it, donate it to a local thrift store and it finds a loving home in the hands of a new reader. Or just return it to the library, whatever is your cup of tea.

I feel like I should mention that I never reread my reviews and that’s why they’re always a mess. Find a grammar mistake? A shitty explanation that you personally think could’ve been better? Don’t bother telling me because I do not care. Thank you for reading and have a great day!

hhhhij

 

One thought on “Review #26 | Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

Leave a Reply

