Review #27 | The Twin Game by V.J. Chambers

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

33974791

Read June 30 – July 1 | Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Goodreads

Hope Ross isn’t crazy, but she knows crazy. Crazy is… 

…a father telling his daughter to pretend her twin sister doesn’t exist. Worst. Game. Ever. 
…a sister never leaving the house. 
…a disturbed woman hidden away in the attic. 
…bodies rotting in the basement. 
…being accused of attempted murder. 
…the police blaming the victim. 

No, Hope’s not crazy, and she’s through playing games. As soon as she gets out of this mental facility, she’s going to prove it.

My Thoughts:

♡ What even was this book, I felt like so much was happening but also not enough was happening at the same time. It was way too long and the plot itself dragged. The characters were bland and the ending was predictable. Now that we have all the bad out of the way, let’s talk about what I liked about this one.

♡ The concept, while not necessary original, was entertaining and interesting. I was definitely interested to see where the plot was going and how the story would ultimately close. If this book wasn’t free on kindle then I probably would’ve never picked it up, if I’m being honest here. It was just an easy thriller between other reads.

♡ The “twist” that all thrillers tend to have wasn’t anything surprising or spectacular but I did like it. The ending especially had my thinking “how the fuck is she going to get out of this one.” One thing that did piss me off about the ending was the cliffhanger, if you can even call it that, and the seemly happy ending for one of our characters. Please, after all this shit you put these characters through you can’t just tell me they were all fine and dandy afterward. No. Nope. I do not agree.

♡ I know there is so much negativity in this review, I’m sorry. I really do like listing what I liked more than what I didn’t in my reviews but I guess this one didn’t work out that way. I did like this story. It wasn’t absolutely terrible. I just don’t have positives that outweigh the negatives for this one.

♡ Nothing about this book is memorable and I will probably forget the plot in a week or two but if you’re looking for an easy to read thriller, that’s free if you happen to have kindle unlimited, and like creepy twins then I say this one might be for you!

Have you read this one? If so, what did you think?

Thank you for reading and have a great day!

hhhhij

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review #27 | The Twin Game by V.J. Chambers

  1. Oh dear, sucks that you didn’t like this one! I have this on my Kindle but I got it on a day that it was free so I won’t mind so much if I read it and dislike it too 🙂 Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

