Review #29 | Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales by Kiersten White

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

28822458 Read July 22 | Rating: ★★☆☆☆½

Goodreads

Once upon a time, a girl skipped into the forest and became a zombie.

Wait, no, that’s not how this story is supposed to go. Let’s try again.

Once upon a time, a boy did a horrible job as a sheep-sitter and burned his tongue on stolen pie.

No, children in these stories are always good and virtuous. From the top.

Once upon a time, a king and queen tried to find a princess for their son to marry, and he wound up fleeing from a group of very hairy vampires.

Hmmm…

What about, once upon a time, a bunch of fairy tales got twisted around to be completely hilarious, a tiny bit icky, and delightfully spooky scarytales… in other words, exactly what fairy tales were meant to be. Grab some flaming torches, maybe don’t accept that bowl of pease porridge, and get ready for a wickedly fun ride with acclaimed author Kiersten White and fairy tales like you’ve never heard them before.

I want to thank the publisher for sending me an ARC and a finished copy of this novel. I love that I had the opportunity to read and honestly review this one.

My Thoughts:

♡ Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales is a middle grade novel that travels through different fairy tales and connecting them along the way. I want to emphasis on the middle grade here. This one definitely reads like it was written for a younger audience. It’s not one of those middle grade novels that on the border of YA. Just know that going in or you may be disappointed.

♡ With that being said I liked this one. It wasn’t hard to read at all and gave me a fun little adventure in between other novels. I appreciate it for what it was.

♡ This one may not be up some older readers ally but it may be a hit with the youngsters. It was cute and short and I’m personally going to give one of my copies to my little cousin, I think they would love it. Especially with all the pee jokes. The jokes in this one had me laughing out loud at some parts.

♡ I’m trying my best not to describe this book as cute a million times within this review but it’s so difficult. While some of these characters were troubled and a little misguided at times, or all of the time, I still thought they were cute and obviously they kept me reading so that’s a plus. Also the writing style was cute and creative, while also being educational? Explanation of how words may have different meaning, etc. I really liked that aspect.

♡ I don’t think I have any more thoughts regarding this one. If you’re looking for a cute middle grade/children’s novel then this one might be for you. This one may not have been exactly for me but I still recommend it to all those interested!

Thank you so much for reading and have a great day!

hhhhij

 

 

Leave a Reply

