Review #30 | Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana

paint-floral-background-vector-free-vector-graphic-download-2

25802922.jpgRead July 31 – August 1 | Rating: ★★★★☆

Goodreads

For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices. 

As the world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, Tara’s life on Earth begins to change. At first, small shifts happen, like attention from Nick Osterman, the most popular guy at Brierly, and her mother playing hooky from work to watch the news all day. But eventually those small shifts swell, the discovery of Terra Nova like a black hole, bending all the light around it. 

As a new era of scientific history dawns and Tara’s life at Brierly continues its orbit, only one thing is clear: Nothing on Earth–and for Tara–will ever be the same again.

My Thoughts:

♡ I honestly can’t believe more people aren’t gushing about this one. While I think the synopsis can be misleading to what the story is actually about, I went into this expecting an alien coming to earth situation, I did not get that and I am also not mad about it. The writing was beautiful and damn the character development in this one is amazing. I’m always a sucker for character development. Every other aspect of the story could be shit and I’ll still love it for its characters growth and development alone. Warning: you may hate these characters at first but your love will grow, trust me.

♡ Diversity. It was great.

♡ Tara, the main character, was hard to get used to. Her personality isn’t very strong in the beginning and honestly a little boring. As the story progresses we see her open up and actually become a well-rounded character that I loved. Along with the side characters, I loved to see their growth and how they handled the changes happening all around them. Why couldn’t this book have been longer?! whhhhy?

♡ I wouldn’t classify this novel as science fiction, in case anyone was wondering. The story follows the discovery of a new planet and how it affect people on this earth. No alien visitation in this one, sorry.

♡ I don’t even know where to begin… this story is about love and relationships and family dynamics and how you see yourself in this big fucking messed up world. Words and explanation are not my speciality, let’s move on. Shall we?

♡ The journey these characters go through and how their morals untimely changed because of this small (could say big) discovery and how it impacts their lives was engaging to read about.

♡ How do people write reviews about books they loved so much?! WHY CAN’T I GATHER ALL OF MY THOUGHTS.

♡ I can say that the ending was a little disappointing, leaving with questions going unanswered. The story also took a turn that I wasn’t expecting, at all. It was out of the blue and I personally didn’t see any clues leading up to it.

♡ If you’re looking for a read whose story may stay with you for while this one might be for you. If you’re looking for a young adult, science fiction that’s not really science fiction at all but more of a contemporary focused mainly on the characters then this one might be for you. If you’re looking for a novel I am recommending to the whole world then this one might be for you. If you’ve somehow read this whole review, congratulations and I love you, and you don’t yet hate my blog then this one might be for you.

Thank you so much for reading and have a great day!

hhhhij

7 thoughts on “Review #30 | Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana

  1. Ok this helped me so much. I was looking forward to a science fiction book and I would have been disappointed bc I’m not a contemporary fan. So while you love it, and that’s good, I would’ve been so frustrated and so I’m sitting this one out – but I’ll recommend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

